外汇

什么是外汇

外汇是允许参与者购买,出售,交换和推测货币的市场。市场由银行,商业公司,中央银行,投资管理公司,对冲基金和投资者所组成。目前,外汇市场被视为世界上最大的金融市场,相当于每日营业额超过3.2万亿美元;是美国净值与国库市场总量的三倍。特别是于1971年汇率被允许自由浮动之后,交易量更是迅速增长

此外,外汇被认为是最有效率的金融市场,因为货币市场规模庞大,流动性强,而且是由连接世界各地参与者的全球电脑网络系统所构成。

外汇历史

很久以前,世界经济是基于实货交易制度,其中特定物件的价值是以其价值来衡量的,以换取其他物件。但是,这个系统有明显的限制。如果没有什么有价值的物件交换,就没有办法获得需要的物品。这就形成了在历史早期建立更实际的买卖方式。在各种文化和经济中,只要有需要,任何东西都可以被认为是有价值的。最终,贵金属如金、银已成为货币体系。目前的在线外汇历史始于1973年,即使货币交易自古埃及时代以来一直存在,当时的这个市场是非常史前的,也没有先进的交易工具。第一个货币硬币使用于Pharos时代,随后由巴比伦人介绍第一代的纸币。不久之后,罗马硬币亦被称为罗马帝国金,其次是罗马帝国银。这两个硬币都于全球使用,成为全球首个外币硬币。在第一次世界大战开始之前,“金本位制”被应用于以国家货币与黄金做交换,以防止政府的任意交换加速通货膨胀,但这一制度一直无法解决所有问题。很少有人利用这种做法,因为许多人经常觉得政府没有必要在中央银行存储一笔完整的黄金储备。一个国家经济的增长导致进口率增加至黄金资源枯竭的程度。因此,流动金额下降导致利率上升,经济活动放缓至衰退阶段。第二次世界大战后,出现更大的不稳定。英国与其他欧洲国家在战争结束后被遗弃,而美国经济仍相对的稳定且强劲。美元也因此成为新的全球储备货币,在外汇历史的其余部分依旧保持着。当这个国家的货币汇率固定在美元上,美元本身与黄金挂钩,每盎司的价格相等于35美元,布列敦森林协定因而存在。参与的国家同意维持其货币的价值与美元的差距和相应的黄金需求。为了国家贸易优势而贬值货币行为是被禁止的,而且只允许贬值不到10%。形成了一个新的国际金融网络。然而,全球经济的战后重建与国家之间的贸易成长要求重新考虑固定的利率,于在1971年,协议暂时停止。美元不再可兑换为黄金。 至1973年,主要工业化国家的货币浮动更广泛。货币主要是由于供求与需求。价格每天都在浮动,其数量,速度与价格波动率整个七十年代都在增加,引发了新的金融工具,市场放松管制以及自由化贸易。在1994年,外汇历史上正式引入第一个在线货币交易。简而言之,外汇的进化过程可以于以上流程图所见

外汇市场

它拥有最大的流动性,最广泛的可及性和低起点费用的金融市场。外汇市场是分散全球的金融市场。因此,外汇是24小时运作,在所有主要的金融中心从一个区域到另一个区域。如果欧洲会期结束,亚洲会期或美国会期即将开始,除周末外,全世界货币交易都能持续进行。主要交易中心是伦敦,但纽约,东京,香港和新加坡也都是重要的中心。全球银行都会参与。与其等待市场开放,交易商随时采取行动。公开发布重大消息,所以世界各地的每一位都会收到同样的消息。实际货币流动以及对全球宏观经济状况的预览通常是外汇汇率波动的根源。

货币对

在外汇市场,货币相互交易。每个货币对组成一个各别的交易产品,以XXX / YYY标记,XXX和YYY是所涉货币的ISO国际三字母代码。第一种货币(XXX),亦被称为基准货币是相对于第二种货币(YYY)的标价,通常称为报价货币。例如,1.5710-英镑兑美元的汇率是以美元计算的英镑价格,意思是1英镑= 1.5710美元。最常用的交易货币以及其ISO代码标列于下表:

货币 美元 欧元 英镑 日圆 澳元 新西兰元 瑞士法郎 加拿大元
ISO代码(符号) USD ($) EUR (€) GBP (£) JPY (¥) AUD ($) NZD ($) CHF (Fr) CAD ($)

据国际清算银行(BIS)的研究显示,交易量最大的产品有:

  1. 欧元兑美元:27%
  2. 美元兑日圆:13%
  3. 英镑兑美元:12%

美元涉及84.39%的交易,其次是欧元(39.1%),日圆(19.0%)及英镑(12.9%)。所有货币的数量百分比应总计为200%,因为每笔交易涉及两种货币。

FOREX

WHAT IS FOREX

Forex is a market in which participants are allowed to buy, sell, exchange and speculate on currencies. The markets are made up of banks, commercial companies, central banks, investment management firms, hedge funds, and investors. Currently, the Forex market is considered to be the largest financial market in the world with an equivalent of over $3.2 trillion daily turnover; more than three times the total amount of the US Equity and Treasury markets combined. The trading volume has increased rapidly especially after exchange rates were allowed to float freely in 1971

Besides, Forex is believed to be the most efficient financial markets because the currency market is large and liquid and it is constructed of a global network of computers that connects participants from all around the world.

FOREX HISTORY

Long ago, the world’s economy was based on the bartering system in which the value of a particular item was measured by its worth in exchange for other items. However, this system had apparent restrictions. There was no way of obtaining items needed if there are nothing valuable to be exchanged. This created the need to establish a more adequate way of buying and selling early in history. In various cultures and economies, anything could be considered valuable as long as there was a need for it. Eventually, precious metals such as gold and silver had become the monetary standard. The current online Forex history begins in 1973 even though currency trading has been around since the era of ancient Egypt, which at that time the market was extremely prehistoric, and there were no advance trading tools. The first currency coins were used at the era of the Pharos, and the first paper notes were then introduced by the Babylonians. Soon after, the roman coin called aureus was used, which was followed by the denarius. Both coins had been used worldwide, making them the first global foreign currency coins. Before the beginning of World War I, the “gold standard” has been employed to allow a national currency to be exchanged only for gold in order to prevent governments from arbitrary emission, which accelerates inflation, but this standard has been unable to solve all problems. Very few people took advantage of this practice because many often felt it was unnecessary for the government to stock a full reserve of gold in their central banks. A country’s growing economy led to the import boost to a point where gold resources were depleted. Thus, the amount of money in circulation decreased resulting in interest rates grew and economic activity slowed down to the stage of recession. After World War II, great instability arises. England and other European countries were left in ruins after the war ended, while the US’s economy was left relatively stable and strong. The Dollar also became the new global reserve currency, and remained so throughout the rest of the Forex history. The Bretton Woods agreement was then existed under in which exchange rates of national currencies were fixed to the dollar and the dollar itself was pegged to gold with the price per ounce set equal to 35 dollars. Participating countries agreed to maintain the value of their currency with a narrow margin against the dollar and a corresponding rate of gold as needed. Currencies devaluing to countries’ trade advantage were prohibited and were only allowed to do so for devaluations of less than 10%. A new international financial network was formed. Yet, post-war reconstruction of the global economy and the increase in trade between the countries demanded a reconsideration of the fixed rate and in 1971, the agreement was temporarily suspended. The US Dollar is no longer convertible into gold. By 1973, currencies of major industrialized nations floated more freely. Currencies were controlled mainly by the supply and demand forces. Prices were floating daily, with volumes, speed and price volatility all increasing throughout the 1970s, giving rise to new financial instruments, market deregulation and trade liberalization. In 1994, the first online currency trading was seen introduced in Forex history. For simplicity, the process of Forex evolution can be viewed in the flowchart above.

FOREX MARKET

It has the deepest liquidity, the widest accessibility and low starting fees of any financial market in the world. The Forex market is a worldwide decentralized over-the-counter financial market. Thus, Forex operate on a 24-hour basis, spanning from one zone to another in all the major financial centers. If the European session is ended, the Asian session or US sessions will starts, so all world currencies can be continually in trade excluding weekend. The main trading center is London, but New York, Tokyo, Hong Kong and Singapore are all important centers as well. Banks throughout the world participate. Traders act in response to news when it breaks, rather than waiting for the market to open, as is the case with most other markets. Significant news is released publicly so everyone in the world receives the same news at the same time. Actual monetary flows as well as anticipations on global macroeconomic conditions are usually the source of Forex exchange rate fluctuations.

CURRENCY PAIRS

In Forex, currencies are traded against one another. Each currency pair composes an individual trading product and is noted by XXX/YYY, where XXX and YYY are the ISO international three-letter code of the currencies involved. The first currency (XXX) is the base currency which is quoted relative to the second currency (YYY), usually named the quote currency. For example, 1.5710- the exchange rate of GBP/USD is the price of the pound sterling expressed in US Dollars, meaning 1 pound sterling = 1.5710 Dollars. The most famous trade currencies are listed in the table below as well as its ISO code:

Currency United States dollar Euro Pound sterling Japanese yen Australian dollar New Zealand dollar Swiss franc Canadian dollar
ISO code (symbol) USD ($) EUR (€) GBP (£) JPY (¥) AUD ($) NZD ($) CHF (Fr) CAD ($)

According to the Bank of International Settlements (BIS) study, the most heavily traded products were:

  1. EURUSD: 27%
  2. USDJPY: 13%
  3. GBPUSD: 12%

and the US currency was involved in 84.39% of transactions, followed by the euro (39.1%), the yen (19.0%), and sterling (12.9%). Volume percentages for all individual currencies should sum up to a total of 200%, as each transaction involves two currencies.